Monday 28 September, 2020

Ali declared President of Guyana

President Elect Dr Irfaan Ali. Photo: PPP/C

President Elect Dr Irfaan Ali. Photo: PPP/C

People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Presidential candidate Dr Irfaan Ali has been declared the winner of Guyana’s disputed Regional and General Elections.

The declaration came from the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) on Sunday afternoon following a meeting of GECOM Commissioners and Chairman Claudette Singh.

Hours earlier, Singh had facilitated a call between President David Granger and Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo to discuss a solution to the five month long election impasse.

Chief Elections Officer Keith Lowenfield also submitted his election report today, using the figures obtained during the national recount, and it showed the PPP/C won the elections with 233,336 votes.

Granger’s A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) received 217,920. A coalition of smaller parties received a combined 5,214.

The PPP/C will have 33 seats in the National Assembly, APNU+AFC will have 31 seats and the smaller parties will have one seat.

GECOM’s Public Relation’s Officer Yolanda Ward said it will provide a statement on the matter later today.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: