Friday 10 July, 2020

US sanctions four governors of Venezuelan states aligned to Maduro

The US Department of State issued a statement noting that the United States has taken action against four governors aligned with the “illegitimate” Maduro regime.

According to a statement issued on Monday, the US State Department said the four governors were sanctioned due to their role in preventing desperately needed international humanitarian assistance from entering Venezuela and/or engaging in corruption to the detriment of the Venezuelan people, in some cases involving human rights violations.

Sanctions were imposed on the governors of the states of Zulia: Omar Prieto, Carabobo: Rafael Lacava, Apure: Ramon Carrizalez, and Vargas: Jorge Garcia Carneiro.

“The United States will not stand by idly while the people of Venezuela are denied basic necessities and made to suffer needlessly. These actions have consequences,” the US State Department said.

The US further reiterated its call to those responsible for blocking aid to Venezuelan citizens to cease and desist and allow them to receive the help they need.

“We reaffirm our call on Venezuelan officials and security forces to allow urgently needed food and medicine to enter and be distributed throughout the country. This humanitarian assistance must be allowed to reach Venezuelans in need.”

The US State Department advised that the sanctions need not be permanent as they are intended to change behaviour. It threatened to continue to take “appropriate” action to respond to the situation in Venezuela as it develops.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: