Saturday 28 March, 2020

Vincentians alerted to covid-19 travel measures

Vincentians have been alerted to certain measures in place for persons travelling to the Republic of China (Taiwan), South Korea and Japan, which were expedited in response to the expanding novel coronavirus.  

Vincy’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Commerce notes the Embassy of the Republic of China (Taiwan) has enacted measures as a response to the virus to safeguard public health security and strengthen the management of the flow of people entering Taiwan.  

Travellers who transit through China, Hong Kong and Macau and are granted entry into Taiwan will be required to be under home quarantine for 14 days. 

Meanwhile, The Republic of South Korea has implemented a Health Questionnaire form for persons entering the Republic of Korea after either staying in or passing through a “Quarantinable Disease Risk Area”.  

St Vincent's Foreign Affairs Ministry warns this form must be completed and submitted to quarantine officials as failure to do so may incur a fine of up to South Korean Won (KRW) $10 million. 

The Government of Japan has also designated the Novel Coronavirus as “Quarantinable Infectious Diseases” under the Quarantine Act of Japan.  

Foreign nationals who are travelling to Japan and are suspected of being afflicted with the novel coronavirus would be ordered to be quarantined with no exception for valid visa holders. 

The Vincentian government says persons travelling to or in transit through these countries should take note of the various advisories.  

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: